Honerable. Shri. Shrinarayanji Agrawal

Founder,Dhamangaon Education Scociety

     Having regard to the fact that education plays a key role in bringing up the social structure of the nation, late Shri Shrinarayanji Agrawal, a yogic man by practice known for his prudence, unparalleled devotion and dedication and above all, his simplicity sowed the seed of Dhamangaon Education Society way back in 1914. He was inspired in this endeavour by his contemporaries, late Shri Jamnalalji Bajaj and late Shri Shrikrishnadasji Jaju. D.E.S. thus perhaps happens to be the oldest and pioneering institution in the Vidarbha region rendering yeoman&s service to the cause of education in a small town of Dhamangaon and adjoining rural areas of Amravati district. Dhamangaon Education Society had the unique tradition of having presidents who had been the distinguished loyalists and idealists. They included Late Shri Bhagchandji Agrawal, Late Shri Dulichandji Agrawal, Late Shri Liladharji Bhutada, Late Shri Suganchandraji Lunawat, Late Shri Puroshattamdasji rathi, Late Shri Shubhakaranji Saraf, Late Shri Ranchoddasbhai Annam, and Late Shri Gajananji Agrawal.

     D.E.S. was fortunate to work under the eminence and proficiency of late Shri Laxminarayanji Agrawal, the former President and the acknowledged Architect. His unremitting efforts and unrivalled contribution to the worthy cause of education enabled the Society to experience new heights of academic glory. He always believed in and nurtured the philosophy of accepting a child from the swinging cradle and returning it to the society in the form of a cultured youth only after its complete educational metamorphosis. With a view to materialize this concept, the Society has gradually expanded its hectic academic activities and opened institutions taking care of all stages of education right from pre-primary to post graduation and technical education. Thus, making a modest beginning with a small middle School in its formative years, the Society over the years has assumed the proportion of a full-fledged educational complex. Presently, the Society through its network of 14 institutions has been making honest efforts to cater to the educational needs of about six thousand students of this region. It needs to be specially mentioned that the Sanskrit Vidyalaya run by the Society is striving for the promotion and teaching of Sanskrit which is believed to be the supreme source of Indian culture.

     After the sad demise of Shri Laxminarayan Agrawal of 9th June 1988, Shri Narayandasji Bhattad served the Society as its President from 1988 to 1991. During this Presidency, the society in 1989 entered into 75th year of its fruitful existence and therefore had the distinction to celebrate its Platinum Jubilee.During 2000, the then President, Shri Alsidasji Rathi and the members of the society unanimously decided with an earnest filling to entrust its leadership to the youths. Consequently on this decision, Shri Sharadkumar Agrawal, a dynamic personality having intrinsic interest in the field of education along with his young executive associates, having been elected unopposed, assumed the reins on the D.E.S. on 17th November 2000. Thus following in the steps of their elders and cherishing the ethical values accepted by them, the young office bearers are determined to bring about the conspicuous progress of the institutions of the society.Though the students seeking admissions to the institutions of D.E.S. are mostly from rural background, their performance in various examinations on most of the occasions is encouraging and at times, even exemplary. Their participation in social , cultural, sports, literary and such other activities does have a qualitative aspect with a winning edge. A good number of students of the Society have brought laurels to their respective institutions by their participation in National and State level competitions. The Society enjoys the rare distinction of having teachers who are recipients of Rastrapati and State Awards for their academic excellence. The Society has pioneered a few educational programmes and adopted healthy administrative practices in its institutions. Since 2003, the Society has instituted Excellence Awards for its employees on lines similar to those of Central and State Governments.

     The society has receives time to time generous donations from its well-wishers, patrons, philanthropic donors and promoters. The Society expresses its indebtedness to all of them for their munificence. The high academic competence and trustworthy reputation earned by the Society need to be attributed to the tireless and conscientious efforts of great visionaries of the yester years. Their missionary zeal, enthusiasm and dedication to the cause of education are always an inspiration to all of us.

Sr. No Name of Institute Year of Establishment
1 Seth Fattelal Labchand Highschool & Junior College 1914
2 Smt Hirabai Goneka Kanya Vidyalaya 1950
3 Sau Narmadabai Panpaliya Balak Mandir 1952
3 Ramchand Bhagchand Sanskrit Vidyalaya 1953
4 Smt.Rukminidevi Agrawal Balak Mandir 1958
5 Smt.Kamaladevi Sharma Balak Mandir 1961
6 Adarsh Science,Jairamdas Bhagchand Arts & Birla Commerce Mahavidyalaya 1961
7 Smt.Hirabai Bhagchandji Prathamik Vidyalaya 1974
8 Sangeet Vidyalaya 1979
9 Laxminarayan Agrawal Memorial Institute Of Technology 1983
10 Livestock Management & Dairy Production 1985
11 Mordern Computer Institute 1986
12 Sau. Dhapudevi Bhattad Engilish Medium Pre-Primary School 1993
13 Engilish Medium Primary School 1996

Contact Details

Telephone:07222-238235 , 237335, 238208.
Email: desdcoet@rediffmail.com
Website: www.descoet.co.in

DES's,College Of Engineering & Technology,
Dhamangaon(Rly) Knowledge Hub,
Anjansingi Road,Dhamangaon(Rly),
Dist-Amravati (M.S),India.

Important Cells & Committees at DESCOET